IAS Awards and Honors

Charles J. Bareis Distinguished Service Award

This award honors those individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to Illinois archaeology and/or the Illinois Archaeological Survey.

The Leonard W. Blake Distinguished Amateur Award

The Blake award is named in honor of its first recipient. It recognizes avocational archaeologists who have made significant contributions to Illinois archaeology and who have supported the goals and methodologies of professional archaeology.

Honorary Lifetime Membership

This award is given to recognize outstanding career achievements by members of the organization. The original Lifetime members were ‘pioneers’ of the organization.

The Illinois Archaeology Career Achievement Award

This award honors professional archaeologists for outstanding career accomplishments and contributions to our understanding of Illinois prehistory and history.

The Illinois Archaeology Public Service Award

This award recognizes important contributions to Illinois archaeology by public figures, private citizens, organizations and programs for their outstanding efforts to promote, protect and preserve cultural resources.

The IAS Memorial Service Award

This award honors the achievements of Illinois archaeologists whose careers have been cut short by fatal illness or accident.

Charles J. Bareis Distinguished Service Award

Charles J. Bareis 1993
James A. Brown 1996
Dawn Cobb 2011
Barbara Donahue 1996
Thomas Emerson 1996
Kenneth Farnsworth  2016
Andrew Fortier  2014
Shawnee National Forest 1997
James B. Griffin 1994
Alan Harn 2006
Douglas K. Jackson 2013
John E. Kelly 2013
Jack (Chao-Li) Lui 2003
Rochelle Lurie 2009
David Nolan 2016
Robert L. Poehls 1993
Dale McElrath  2014
Lenville Stelle  2014
Mark Walczynski 1993
John Walthall 1992
Mike Wiant 2009
Bob Williams 1995

Leonard W. Blake Distinguished Amateur Award

Ferrel Anderson  1986
Leonard W. Blake  1982
Lucille & Howard Davis 1999
Jerry Elliston  1984
Earl Fey 2009
Gene Gray 1985
Glen and Mary Hanning
John Henry  2004
Larry Kinsella
Edward B. Lace 1997
Adolf Link 1990
David Mayer 2003
Albert Meyer 1989
Leslie W. Milligan 1996
Bob Nale 2009
Karen Sank 1991
Denzil Stephens 1983
Lynn Stephens 2013
Robert and Doreen Stelton 2004
Lee and Lila Vick 1998

Honorary Lifetime Membership

Charles J. Bareis 1995
Elaine Bluhm Herold 1978
Thorne Deuel  1978
Melvin L Fowler 1987
James B Griffin 1978
Robert Hall  2009
Edward B. Jelks 1998
John D. McGregor 1978
Jon Muller 2009
Harriet M. Smith 1987
Howard D. Winters 1978

Illinois Archaeology Career Achievement Award

James A. Brown 2009
Brian Butler 2013
Thomas Emerson  2014
Melvin Fowler 2006
Robert L. Hall 1997
R. Bruce McMillan  2014
Jon Muller 2006
Stuart Struever  2014
John Walthall  2009
Warren Wittry 1996

Illinois Archaeology Public Service Award

Friends of Albany Mounds 2006
Melvin Allsheid 1999
Alice Berkson
Richard Bradley 2009
David and Patricia Casper  2008
Paul and Mary Chucalo 1999
Harry Drucker 2006
Ron Duncan 2007
Ray Druhot  2015
Emmons family 1998
Duane Esarey 2003
Gramercy Park Foundation 2006
Scott Fowler 2009
Mr & Mrs James Gallop 1996
Mary Gilman 1999
Valerie Hall 2013
Anne Haaker  2014
Mary Margaret Harris & Cynthia Knutilla  2015
Hal Hassen 2006
Kincaid Mounds Support
Virginia Jensen  2015
Jody Johnson 2007
Roger & Peg Johnson 2012
Chris Kirkpatrick 2008
Richard Kuennekke 2005
Brian Luhr 1999
Joe MacFarland 2009
Corene McDaniels 2007
Don McFall 2006
Paul McNight 2007
Angela Moorehouse 2006
Francis Newell 1996
New Philadelphia Association  2016
Leslie and Juanita Parsons 2003
Friend of the Indian Mounds Pool and Park
Karen Poulson  2004
Midewin Tallgrass Prairie 1996
Nelson Reed 2013
Kelvin Sampson 2003
Tom Short 1996
Smeja Foundation 2012
Dean Spindler 2009
Robert Swenson 2007
Barbara Thoelke 2007
Edmund Thornton 1996
Richard Townsend 2005
Bill Wheeler 2009

Illinois Archaeology Survey Memorial Service Award

James Porter  2003
David Walitschek  1997

For an excellent summary of the history of the awards up to 2000, please consult Kenneth Farnsworth’s 2000 article “Recognizing our Own: Historic Summary and Overview of IAS Honors and Awards: 1958-1999.” Illinois Archaeology 12 (1&2):315–323.
© 2017 Illinois Archaeological Survey. All rights reserved.
Contact webmaster
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software